Taking Learning in My Own Hands

After learning about hacking my own education and about passion based learning, I am glad to see that I get to do this in a way for my class. I can decide to do what I want  and how I want to learn. In high school there was a class like this one for an art class. Students could only be in this class if they have taken a couple of art classes before and have a plan for projects to do in that year.

For my independent learning project I plan on working on my drawing skills.  Though I can draw like this:photo-1

Photo by Courtney Lyon

I lack in drawing people, animals and certain objects. This will help me be more knowledgeable in the area, thus being helpful in teaching my students. I think I will be able to learn the technique better by myself rather than in class and being pressured into doing it. I plan to start with drawing hands and feet in detail to get my shading down then going to the face and facial features. With this I plan to add value and attempt to make it look realistic as I can. Then move into contour lines, outlines, of the body. Finally going into detail of the body and different positions of the body. Depending how long this will take then I will practice on drawing animals. This will be done in charcoal and graphite sketch or drawing paper.

Understanding that drawing people can be easy as looking at the different shapes to get the main shape of the object. The problem is to putting it to practice and doing it. Then perfecting it in making it proportionate and realistic. I am a perfectionist and hope this will turn out as planned in the next six weeks.

I will be posting my progress on my project in those six weeks. I see it going smoothly now and hope it stays that way. That is because time is a big thing and four hours kind of seems like a lot in a way. This is because of all of the other work from other classes. I am excited because this is something I want to do and achieve. Looking at it that way time shouldn’t matter.

4 thoughts on “Taking Learning in My Own Hands

  1. happilyeverholly says:

    Wow! I cannot believe that the picture you posted is something that you drew! I would love to say that my independent learning project was going to be “learning how to better my drawing,” but if the last 21 years of life weren’t long enough for me to become even remotely decent, I know that then next 7 weeks aren’t going to be! 🙂 I admire you for trying something out of your comfort zone and can’t wait to see more of your artwork!

    Like

    • courtney18blog says:

      Thank you! It isn’t too late to try, all it takes is a subject and to start. I didn’t see myself as decent before I did that picture and took a while after that to think I am ok at it. I hope it turns out alright and can’t wait to get started.

      Like

  2. alexmmarker says:

    I really like that you are going to perfect a skill you are already very good at. If you were comfortable with where you were at, you would stop learning and growing. By continuing to pursue this passion and get better, you are setting yourself up for success in the future!

    Like

    • courtney18blog says:

      I am terrible at drawing faces and people in general. This will help me improve on it. I mostly want to do this to help my students when they ask questions. I don’t want to be confused on how to help them out. I know we learn while we teach, but this can help me out in the future. Thank you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

