PLN of Education

Just learning what a PLN means this week shows how you can learn something new everyday. This is interesting in the fact that we don’t have to figure this all out by ourselves and that there are handy tools to help us in the future. The Personal Learning Network is different for people who go into different professions.

Being an art education major I thought that it could be difficult finding some things to connect to, but then soon realized that I had more. I have one network that will help me through my student years, called the National Art Education Association. I am part of this because of the thought to be art education club on my campus. With the lack of numbers it did not become a club, but being a member of the association has its benefits. Such as I get monthly magazines that have handy articles and resources for art teachers. This will help me as a future teacher to gain materials and keep. Now, instead of fumbling around as a new teacher right out of college. The Twitter part of the association has encouraging posts that tell the stories of why people wanted to become art teachers. Like this one from

 

<blockquote class=”twitter-tweet” data-lang=”en”><p lang=”en” dir=”ltr”>[VIDEO] Tell Your Art Story: Why did you become an art educator? Featuring Greg Petecki <a href=”https://twitter.com/hashtag/artsed?src=hash”>#artsed</a&gt; <a href=”https://t.co/OeSgVDj2rW”>https://t.co/OeSgVDj2rW</a></p>&mdash; NAEA (@NAEA) <a href=”https://twitter.com/NAEA/status/793060359456391168″>October 31, 2016</a></blockquote>
//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

 

Though that was a good first step without knowing that was what I was doing,  I am not very good at replying or making myself known and commenting on information. This is something that I will have to grow into and learn how to be more bold and get out in my profession.

One thing that I read when researching what  a PLN is was that it is personal. It is about us and what we want to learn and go forward in. I see a challenge with seeing some actual content that I will be learning in some of my twitter followers. But as advised the more the better. Though having so much clutter kind of defeats the purpose of learning if that is all you actually see it as, clutter. To help with that though would be to share or just respond to the articles or posts that interest me or will help me learn. The blogging portion is fantastic! To read what others are going though and to see their struggles and how they have overcome is really inspiring to me.

6 thoughts on “PLN of Education

  1. clukasiewicz13 says:

    I think it’s awesome that you admitted to not being proficient at commenting and getting yourself out there into the world of learning. I can definitely see myself struggling with that a little bit, too. I know my first year of teaching will be rough and will involve lots of figuring things out and starting my cluster of resources and ideas from scratch. How will you overcome not being proficient at putting yourself out there in the learning world and gaining new ideas?

    Like

    • courtney18blog says:

      To overcome I will just have to do it anyway. Just like public speaking, I had to do it and that helped me get over my fear of it. It may be a struggle for a while, but it won’t be forever. Thank you for the comment!

      Like

  2. shaniachannel says:

    Courtney, before this weeks assignment I didn’t know what PLN stood for, and it’s true that we continue to learn every day. Yes PLNs are all about our interests and with who we want to connect with. It is important that we start building our PLN now because it might be useful in the future.

    Shania 🙂

    Like

  3. alexmmarker says:

    I like how you emphasized the “personal” section of a PLN. A lot of teaching tools out there are mass-produced and can only fit certain aspects of your educational needs. A PLN is 100% tailored to be useful to you, and I think that this is one of its greatest strengths.

    Like

Leave a Reply

